Snack borrows

That’s bug’s name for granola bars. Since it’s adorable, we’ve all adopted it and now also refer to these as snack borrows. I’m by no means a chef, expert home cook, or anything like that. I am, however, an expert eater. Especially if chocolate is involved. Given my need to eat one handed so often these days, things in bar form are a favorite. These are so good I just had to share my “recipe.” I use that term loosely since I rarely follow an exact recipe. This one is my own take from lots that I read online and mashed into one.

image

 

Granola Barrows:

3 cups oats

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup agave

4 Tbsp peanut butter

3 Tbsp coconut oil

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

pinch of salt

1/2-3/4 cups chocolate chips (or raisins)

Here’s where it gets really hard. Pour it all into a bowl, stick your (non-baby drooled on) hand into the middle, and mash it all up. Dump mixture into greased 9×13 pan. Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes. Cut right away into 14 bars (or fewer and be a happier fat kid until they run out faster). Nom. That’s it. Well, thats the basics.

I change this up frequently. I’ve used maple peanut butter, chocolate peanut butter, walnuts, pecans, cinnamon, skipped the egg, and switched chocolate chips out for raisins. Pretty much each time I make them it’s a different adventure.

These are even better than store bought in my opinion. They’re also ridiculously easy to make and I can be eating then 45 minutes after inspiration to make them strikes. Add cheaper and healthier to the mix, and these are definitely a long term replacement for store bought granola bars around here. All totaled, these cost somewhere around $2.50 per batch using mostly organic ingredients. That’s the most I’ll pay for a box at the store, but those only have 5-6 bars per box. We all know I love cheap almost as much as I love chocolate ( which is nearly as much as I love my kids. kidding)

So, there you have it. The most exciting home related thing going on here this week. Well, other than getting our yard mowed/weed whacked. That was so boring/tiring/embarrassing because the weeds and grass were so tall small children could get lost in our yard, that I didn’t bother with photos. 🙂 Now, its back to the granola bars and off to the rodeo!

 

One response to “Snack borrows

  1. Pingback: Dining room decor and…. Lent | 100 year head start

What say you?

